Strawberry Teff Loaf + Cooking Therapy

I’ve been cooking a bit lately. And I find it deliciously therapeutic. I love the process of combining and creating because it’s rhythmical and calculated. It’s quiet. And I’m happy to admit that I still feel a surge of excitement when everything works as it’s supposed to! Whoever knew that adding this to that would make something so-damn-goooood?!

I’ve also realised that mixing a bowl of ingredients together is the perfect time to let your thoughts unravel. Perhaps I should liken my cooking endeavours to adult colouring books, except that cooking is little more involved. And I do believe the final product is far more tasty.

This particular day I had some teff flour begging to be used in my cupboard. And seeing as I won’t be in the country much longer, I thought it best to use it up! And besides, this minute grain is outrageously good for you, so eat up!

IMG_3637

THERAPEUTIC RASPBERRY TEFF LOAF

WHAT CHA NEED:

Just so you know: as always, my measurements are fairly lax… but I think they’ll do the job!

1 cup of brown teff flour (I used Lydia’s  – a great company with a social conscience!)
3/4 cup of almond meal
1/4 cup of dessicated coconut (or shredded/flaked)
1.5 tsp of baking powder
2 eggs
1 cup milk-of-choice
2-4 tablespoons liquidy sweetener* or stevia to taste
1/4 cup of olive oil (coconut will work too)
1 cup of strawberries (or berry of choice)
A pinch of sea salt

* I recommend at least 1 of these be blackstrap molasses for that lovely bittersweet flavour! I used 1 tblsp rice malt, 1 tblsp blackstrap molasses, as I don’t like a lot of sweetness. I love Spiral brand, because it’s one of the lowest in sugar!

WHAT CHA DO:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees and line a medium sized loaf tin with baking paper.
  2. Combine all wet ingredients and mix them well.
  3. Combine your dry ingredients so the mix is consistent.
  4. Add dry to wet mixture and mix until well combined.
  5. Gently mix the berries in.
  6. Pour your delicious mixture into the tin.
  7. Decorate with whatever you fancy. Or don’t.
  8. Cook for 45-50 minutes.
  9. Enjoy as a side to half a jar of peanut butter 😉

NB: If your mixture seems too liquidy, add some coconut flour or more almond meal until it seems a wee bit thicker.

IMG_3636

 

One thought on “Strawberry Teff Loaf + Cooking Therapy

Leave a Reply

