How to go slow: part 2

If you’ve been tagging along with my exploration of slow living, you’ll know that I’ve been doing some weird and wonderful things in an attempt to cultivate slowness in my life. You might want to catch up with Part 1 of How to Go Slow before reading on. This is Part 2. I like to think that it’s equally as weird, equally as wonderful.

The executing of slowness, extended edition:

  • Deep breaths. Simple, eh? You’ve no doubt heard this one before. But I find that it really does work to help you check in with where your mind and your body are at. I.e is your heart racing? Are you tense? Are you remembering to breathe at all? Where are your thoughts taking you? As witchy as it sounds – and I have no qualms about sounding witchy – breathing intentionally is very grounding. Perhaps it has something to do with inhaling so deeply of the very air around you – your surroundings – that you are reminded of your present-ness; the fact that you are here.

Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 5.09.36 pm

  • Wear an analogue watch. For a long time, my iPhone was my main means of time-keeping, and for some odd reason, life passed a heck of a lot faster on that thing. I now wear an analogue watch that boasts a considerable space between each minute mark. Whoever knew one could achieve so much in a 5 mere minutes?! I have a theory, you know, that we think time passes much quicker than it actually does (most of the time at least). I believe this leads us to think “Oh no, I shan’t start that now, I haven’t the time!”, and so we put off things that we could easily achieve in the given time frame. If only we knew the reality of the space and the potential that a minute or two affords us…

Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 5.09.25 pm

  • If you have time, don’t order takeaway. Not only do takeaway cups contribute tonnes of waste to landfill, coffee/tea tastes better when you drink it from a ceramic cup or mug. Personal experience tells me so. More importantly, you afford yourself an opportunity to truly experience and savour the delicious brew that your barista worked hard to create (hopefully). There is also less chance of schlopping coffee all over yourself, which is brill.

Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 5.09.15 pm

  • Put your phone away. Much of the human race is slipping into the dark, black abyss of the smartphone vortex. Dramatic? Maybe. But totally true. We’re so reliant on mobile phones that we don’t know what to do with ourselves when we’re without them. On the train without your phone? May as well be in solitary confinement. Haven’t checked Facebook all day? Go and join your friends in the middle ages. Seriously though, phones (and their applications) suck so much time away from us in such a subtle way that we don’t even realise it’s happening. Next time you’re on the train, look up from your phone and have a squizz at what everyone else is doing. My bet is you’ll be looking at a bunch of brain dead, square-eyed zombies. Phones aren’t evil, but sometimes I think we need to remember that we exist outside of all that palaver. 

Screen Shot 2015-07-20 at 9.06.26 pm

How do you like to go slow? Let me know! And do be sure to check out How to go slow: part 1” and other posts in my exploration of slowness series… like this one. And also this one, which talks about porridge, ergo it is a must must-read.

My sincerest “thank yous” for reading, until next time!

2 thoughts on “How to go slow: part 2

Leave a Reply

