Everyday Magic

 

Today I had a small but significant realisation sitting in my International Studies class. Perhaps all that ghastly critical thinking is finally getting to my brain, or perhaps I was just day dreaming as I normally do when things get a little dull (which is always). But anyway, on to my realisation. Up until this point I’ve always thought that I needed to have something special to say on this blog; something witty, something emotive, something inspiring or something relevant to what’s going on in the world. And to be honest, that sort of thinking is overwhelming. The idea of sitting down to write some colossal, meaningful piece is daunting. I’ve wanted to write about my travels for so long (and I will!) but it’s a big job to tackle… collecting information and photos and memories. So I’m going to be adding some everyday words to my space here, maybe a line or two or a poem or a recount of my day. The mundane doesn’t have to be mundane, it can be magical too, and I hope I can make it so.

image
A little piece of everyday magic: the grey sea and the gloomy sky in the morning light.
3 thoughts on “Everyday Magic

  1. In Tina Fey’s book Bossypants, she has a great quote about this kind of thing, it’s something the creator of Saturday Night Live said to her: “’The show doesn’t go on because it’s ready; it goes on because it’s 11:30.’
    This is something Lorne has said often about Saturday Night Live, but I think it’s a great lesson about not being too precious about your writing. You have to try your hardest to be at the top of your game and improve every joke you can until the last possible second, and then you have to let it go. You have to let people see what you wrote. It will never be perfect, but perfect is overrated. Perfect is boring.”
    I think a little imperfection helps people relate, and that’s why I read a lot of blogs, it’s such an accessible form of writing, a way to directly interact and feel a connection.
    Hope you’re well xx

Leave a Reply

