Marbled Chocolate-Chai Brownie Slice

Oh yes, my dear friends, you heard me. Chocolate. Chai. Brownies. Perhaps I should add a few adjectives… How about rich Chocolate-Chai Brownie slice with lashings of marbled sunflower seed butter that melts and oozes like liquid gold. Too much? 😉

Try and resist devouring all of the batter... Good luck!
Try and resist devouring all of the batter… Good luck!

These brownies are super easy, handy, yummy and not to mention full of wholesome ingredients! I may have eaten four already! They are also egg free, agave-free, soy-free, sugar-free and made with cheap and easy-to-find ingredients! You won’t find any rare or ancient, freeze-dried, mineral-fortified, donkey testicle extract here, just good old honest ingredients. (Don’t get me wrong, I love all that superfood stuff, but it’s also super expensive! And no, I don’t think donkey testicle extract actually exists… but you never know!)

A spoon of smooth nut butter goes a long way when melted!
A spoon of smooth nut butter goes a long way when melted!

Chai is one of my favourite things ever! I have a billion different types of Chai tea and this slice contains my favourite so far. It’s called Nerada Organic Chai tea. It’s absolutely beautiful brewed with soy and isn’t too peppery, which I don’t like in my chai.

Chocolate is one of my other favourite things.

And so is nut butter. Can you tell from all the photos? 😉

Oh baby, that smell.
Oh baby, that smell.

Ingredients:

1 tin of white beans – I used Cannellini

Unsweetened vanilla almond milk – available at Coles for the Aussies, otherwise use whatever milk you prefer or make your own with plain almond milk + vanilla essence.

3/4 cup wholemeal self-raising flour – I filled half of my 3/4 cup with flour and the other half with oats. So effectively, you are using half of a 3/4 cup of wholemeal self-raising flour and the other half of the 3/4 cup is topped up with oats.

1/4 cup cacao – Cacao is a superfood, yes, but it can easily be substituted for 100% cocoa powder, which is more refined and less nutritional.

1/2 cup of granulated stevia – Find it in your supermarket! About a quarter of this measurement was Natvia’s Sugar Free Drinking Powder (Stevia + Cocoa powder) because I ran out of plain stevia.

1/4 cup plain Chobani or other low-fat, unsweetened natural/greek yoghurt.

A shake of cinnamonall-spice and mixed-spice, or just use a blend of your favourite spices.

The contents of two chai tea bags – The chai I prefer is quite ground up, so if your tea bags have big chunks of star anise, cloves or other things like that, you might have to grind it up a bit before adding it in.

4 dates – I microwaved them to soften.

1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk – substitute your preferred type of milk, or make your own by using plain almond milk + vanilla essence.

Heaped dessert spoon (or tablespoon) of nut butter of your choice – Preferably a smooth nut butter. I actually used Eskal Freenut Butter (sunflower seed butter) because I personally think it’s yummier than peanut butter! Eeek! Don’t hurt me!

Don't worry about that white stuff, it's just from being cold in the fridge!
Don’t worry about that white stuff, it’s just from being cold in the fridge!

Method:

1. Drain and rinse the beans, You want to get rid of as much of the ‘bean juice’ as possible because it normally has salt added and we don’t want funky, salty brownies.

2. Blend the beans in a blender or food processor, adding splashes of milk to help it mix. Because I used a low-power blender I probably ended up using around 1/4 cup of almond milk.

3. Blend the flour/oats, cacao, 1/2 cup stevia, spices, Chobani, chai tea, 1/4 cup of almond milk (additional), and dates. In other words, blend everything else on the ingredients list!

4. Line a tray with baking paper and pour in the mixture, trying to get an even layer.

5. Melt the nut butter in the microwave and dollop or drizzle it over the mix. In places where you get big dollops of nut butter, run a knife through it to create a marbled effect. If it’s runny enough you may just be able to drizzle it over as you wish 😉

6. Bake for 25-30 minutes on 180°C. Check to see if they are ready using a skewer. If it comes out clean then they’re probably ready! Also check to see if the edges have crisped up! Use your sixth-sense!

7. Cut into 6-12 squares when cool and CONSUME! 🙂

Pretty little things. And yummy. Very yummy.
Pretty little things. And yummy. Very yummy.

Notes:

  • I tasted the batter before cooking it and found it was very sweet. I’m not sure if the sweetness was diminished a bit after cooking, but I found they were fine after being in the oven. I may have just been too excited to eat them though and not noticed the sweetness, so adjust the amount of sweetener to your own tastes. 🙂
  • If you don’t like the flavour of Chai simply omit, or if you are worried it will be too strong, simply use one tea bag instead of two.
  • Because these don’t really have a raising agent, they will come out like a slice rather than a big thick brownie. I’m not very knowledgeable when it comes to the science of baking, but I’m guessing that if you added baking powder and/or baking soda then it would rise much better! None-the-less, still delicious!
  • Because these contain yoghurt they should be kept in the fridge. I actually preferred them cold as compared to when I microwaved them! Nom nom!
Tea and brownie slice? The perfect afternoon snack.
Tea and brownie slice? The perfect afternoon snack.

This recipe is by no means perfect! It didn’t really turn out like a conventional brownie, but hey, that’s what cooking is all about! Failing, experimenting and failing some more! As long as it tastes good then that’s all that matters. I hope this turns out well for you. It may be a bit funky but that just makes it all the more fun 😉 Enjoy!

Ps. Speaking of “failure”, check out my last post about taking risks and daring to fail. It may come in handy some day!

Leave a Reply

