Dare to Fail – A lesson in the art of Riskology

“Life is inherently risky. There is only one big risk you should avoid at all costs, and that is the risk of doing nothing.” – Denis Waitley

Ok, I’ll be the first to admit that the title of this post isn’t one that you particularly gravitate towards. “Dare to succeed” maybe, but “dare to fail”? Isn’ that the opposite of what we’re told to do?

Today I dared to succeed, but I also dared to fail. And you know what, it felt good!

Spoiler alert: I ‘failed’, but my ‘failure’ (I hesitate to call it that) was incredibly empowering!

It was at 8pm on Sunday night that I decided I was going to make the 1 hour train trip to Double Bay in Sydney’s Eastern suburbs. I had decided that I was finally going to visit a modelling agency and find out what this lucrative business was all about! Maybe I would have that ‘je ne sais quoi’ that they talk about some people possessing.

Now, before you jump to any conclusions, I don’t consider myself the next Miranda Kerr, but I’ve always found myself intrigued by the modelling industry. Perhaps it’s the opportunity that successful models are given to travel, or the appeal of meeting hundreds of different people from every corner of the globe. Perhaps it’s the money, the glamour (or lack there of), the desirability of the whole shazam, or most of all, the way that this particular career seems to open up a window of opportunities for certain lucky ladies (and gentlemen) in a tonne of other industries.

Whatever the reason, I decided on Sunday night that I was going to bite the bullet and take a risk, something which I haven’t really done in a long while.

Arriving at Edgecliff station, my dear brother and I made our way to Vivien’s Model Management with the help of my battery-draining friend, google maps. Boy was I nervous! After wandering around like lost little sheep for an extra half an hour, we decided to call up. Where was this elusive place!? Another 5 minutes passed before we located the building, but like the goofballs we are, we entered through the wrong door and popped up in the middle of the room (which was “not the model end”, as we were quickly told).

The visit was short and sweet. I was asked my height, told I was probably too short, and then had some “digis” taken (some sort of model talk for “digital photos”, I’m guessing). I was then told I had a cute smile and was quite commercial, but “probably not strong enough”, particularly because most of the girls are around 5’10” (whoa!) – whether this was an insult or a compliment I guess I’ll never know, but none-the-less, the ladies there were nice enough and you know what, I put myself out there!

Risk number one accomplished! Tick!

This photo does not belong to me!

At the suggestion of the ladies at Vivien’s, we then ventured on to a more commercial agency in Bondi Junction, where I was given a similar response, but in a less friendly way. “Would I keep my hair?” The straight-faced woman had asked me, to which I had replied quite candidly, “yes”. Assuming that this was what she had wanted to hear I was quite surprised when I was told that it wasn’t adaptable enough (if you know me, or have seen a photo of me, then you may remember my dead straight waist length hair). After that, she measured my height and failed to even crack a smile as I joked about my odd socks. Seriously?! Come on! Lighten up, people!

But despite my odd socks and double dose of rejection, the main point of this post was to tell you about the risks that I decided to take today, and how I’ve decided that from this point on, I’m going to take more of them.

Did I get rejected? Sure did!

Did I “fail”, in the general sense of the word? Yep!

Does it make me any less of a person? Not in the slightest!

In fact, I’m proud of myself for going beyond my comfort zone and for trying something new! Despite the fact that I was “unsuccessful” at joining an agency, I think that what I gained was even more valuable, and this my friends, is true success! Don’t be scared to fail and just as importantly, don’t be scared to try in the first place! Thanks to my spontaneous little adventure, I feel more confident in myself and more equipped to deal with rejection. And what’s more, I was filled with gratitude for the efforts of my dear brother who simply came along for “moral support”!

In these situations, it’s helpful to remember that the worst thing anyone can ever say to you is “No”, so hold your head high and take something positive from every situation! Because honestly, if someone doesn’t laugh at the fact that you’re wearing odd socks, then frankly they aren’t worth your time anyway! 😉

And with that, I leave you with one of my all-time favourite quotes/questions:

“What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?”
(You know all those things you’re thinking of right now… you should go do them!) And remember, failure doesn’t make you any less of a person.

Quite the contrary.

One thought on “Dare to Fail – A lesson in the art of Riskology

  1. I really, really, really enjoyed reading this to be honest. I am the kind of girl who is a “little too daring” hence I have been told “no” or I have “failed” as you say, many, many times and people do not understand how my confidence grows instead of diminishes. I think that getting out of our comfort zone is where magic happens and, yes, it hurts when we fail and it is not nice when we are told we can’t, or we aren’t fit for this position or blah blah… but what about when we get a yes? What about when we succeed?

    I think you should be very proud of yourself (and I get the feeling you are, so hooray!!) for taking this chance.

    Loving your blog (I have been reading you for a while but didn’t have a blog myself so never left comments, sorry!)

Leave a Reply

