Chunky Banana Oat Cookies

Do you ever find yourself turned off by a recipe because of the number of items on the ingredient list, or perhaps the fact that you can’t even pronounce half of the words to begin with? 

Well, I feel your pain, I really do!

Sadly, half of the recipes I come across on the internet use ingredients that are expensive and hard to come by, and while I would love to have a pantry full of exotic goodies from around the globe, sometimes you just have to rely on the good old basics to get you by.

(I must admit though, even on the off chance that I do in fact have all the goodies that I need hidden somewhere in the depths of my cupboard, if the ingredient list looks more like the bibliography for one of my university essays then I’m out!)

Speaking of university, there really is something about that place that makes me incredibly hungry! Maybe it’s the 6:10am wake up call or the fact that I’m out and about for 10 or so hours of the day. Maybe it’s the immense amount of brain power I use in class scrolling through food blog after food blog when I really should be offering my opinion on some wanky academic theory. Ah, who knows! But one thing is for sure, my stomach is a bottomless pit on those kind of days!

You might find it easier to waddle over to the shiny and alluring vending machine when the hunger bug strikes, but I assure you, these cookies can be whipped up in the same amount of time that it would take you to buy a packet of chips (or should I say air?). Because let’s be honest, after you’ve fiddled around with all those buttons and fumbled in your pocket for that extra 20c you could have yourself an aromatic batch of golden-brown cookies baking away in the oven.Image

Now for the recipe!

These cookies really only require two things: bananas and oats. I added a few other goodies to amp up the nutritional value and didn’t really measure anything, so I’ll just have to give some rough estimates!

And just a little side note… these cookies are super simple, so you can’t expect 5 star quality and I’ll be the first to admit they have their flaws… But when you need something cheap, nutritious and easy to make for uni, school or just everyday snacking, then these babies beat a packet of chips hands down every time! 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of oats (I substituted some of this for puffed wholegrain rice)
  • 3 over-ripe bananas
  • Stevia to taste (I find that when banana is baked with other ingredients its sweetness can be dulled a little bit, but this ingredient is optional really and for the most part pretty unnecessary in the greater scheme of cookieness.)

Additional goodies:

  • goji berries (they add a really nice pop of sweetness, go soft in the oven and taste much better when they’re all plump and juicy!)
  • seed mix
  • dessicated coconut
  • raw cacao powder or pure cocoa
  • chia seeds
  • coconut oil
  • nuts
  • nut butter
  • and anything else you can think of!

I popped them in the preheated oven at 180C for about 20 minutes, checking periodically to make sure that they weren’t turning to ash, but don’t quote me on this, it would be best to just keep checking until your cookies reach your desired state of yumminess.Gotta love that Iphone quality!

When I made these, I tried 3 slightly different versions so that I could compare how the different ingredients would change the taste and consistency. Here is what I discovered!

To the base recipe of batch no.1 I added raw cacao, dessicated coconut and stevia, which is a natural sweetener available at supermarkets. I then pressed a nut into the top of the cookie for a bit more excitment. How daring, you might say. Anyway, this was my favourite batch! There was just something more about the taste, more depth perhaps, if I can say that without sounding like an utter nutter. And I found they weren’t as chewy and had that rich chocolatey goodness that we all love.

To the second batch I added a tablespoon or so of coconut oil… I discovered that these cookies were not much different to the batch without oil. Perhaps if you add more something magical might happen? To this batch I also added goji berries, which I would recommend! They’re super nutritious and add some nice colour. Alternatively, try a different type of dried fruit, but make sure it’s not sweetened and don’t go overboard – the sugar in dried fruit is concentrated because the water is sucked out of the fruit!

The third batch had the simple additions of coconut, seeds, chia seeds. Simple and nutritious, but I still stand by the chocolately batch as my favourites. Let’s be honest, chocolate wins everytime.

P.S what’s your go to snack?

2 thoughts on “Chunky Banana Oat Cookies

Leave a Reply

